Haunted house horror video takes top award

Short films made with heart, humour and intelligence by rangatahi throughout the motu burst off the screen to enthusiastic applause at the recent E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Film Awards held in Ōtaki as part of the Māoriland Film Festival.

Arirkirangi accepts the Filmmaker of the Year/Te Ihorei Award on behalf of Te Akauroa Jacobs from Rawiri Paratene

Te Akauroa Jacobs took the prestigious Te Ihorei /Filmmaker of the Year Award for ‘Whare Kino’, a cleverly written, acted and produced film that turned the old haunted house horror trope into a genuinely scary ghost story.

He and the other winners were congratulated and encouraged by veteran actor, director and film maker, Rawiri Paratene.  Broadcaster and E Tū Whānau kaimahi, Brent Mio joined up and coming young broadcaster from Rotorua, Sonny Ngatai, to present the prizes.

The rapt attention of the audience said it all as they were transported by the films at the awards ceremony

In the five years since E Tū Whānau began sponsoring film making workshops for rangatahi, and the awards to celebrate their achievements, there has been a noticeable rise in the quality of storytelling, writing, editing and production.

Neihana Lowe, who won the 2018 award for Best Editor/Pepa “Kotikoti” Kōhatū Award for Tūrangawaewae, a film questioning appearance and cultural identity, is a second time winner at the E Tū Whānau Awards. Pare Finlay, who won this year’s Best Actor/Te Ahikā Award, has also been involved with the competition since its beginnings.

World standard films

Te Mahara Tamehana (left) took out the award for Best Documentary / ‘Pakipūmeka Mātua’ with his film, ‘Shadows in Paradise’

This year’s crop of filmmakers produced dramas, comedies, documentaries, music videos and animations that could foot it with the work of their peers anywhere in the world.

And the world is where some are already heading.  Last year Māoriland Festival kaimahi took a group of young film makers to four Pacific nations to share and learn from indigenous filmmakers working within their own cultures. Most of the rangatahi had taken part in the workshops or worked on short films for previous competitions.

The E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Film Awards are a stepping stone for young filmmakers wanting to develop their own stories.  They are now a well-established part of the Māoriland Film Festival, which is itself developing an international reputation for showcasing excellent work by indigenous film makers from all around the world.

Winners of the 5th annual E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Filmmaking Awards 2018

  • Filmmaker of the Year/Te Ihorei: For a young filmmaker who has shown exceptional vision and talent – Te Akauroa Jacobs for ‘Whare Kino’
  • Best Documentary/‘Pakipūmeka Mātua’ – Te Mahara Tamehana for ‘Shadows in Paradise’
  • Best Drama/Te Tino Whakaataata – Ōtaki College for ‘Ranginui and Papatūānuku’
  • Best Editor/Pepa “Kotikoti”, Kōhatū – Neihana Lowe for ‘Tūrangawaewae’
  • Best Use of Theme/Wai Ora: Best film in response to the E Tū Whānau values – Jakita Paranihi and Ari Leason for ‘Moepapa’
  • Best Actor/Te Ahikā – Pare Finlay for her performance in ‘Mahurangi’

Congratulations to all the participants in this year’s Rangatahi Filmmaking Awards!

Jakita Paranihi and Ari Leason were taken surprise when they were photo bombed by MC Brent Mohi while receiving their award from Rawiri Paratene