Rangatahi Film Awards 2016

Congratulations to everyone who entered the third E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Film Awards.  The awards ceremony was held in Ōtaki on March 24 as part of the 2016 Māoriland Film Festival.  While not everyone took away a prize, all entrants were all applauded for their effort and skill in film, their creative story telling and their enthusiasm for the kaupapa.

The producers of ‘Harikoa’ and ‘Healthy Wrap’ were the joint winners of Best Original Music

Innovation and increasingly sophisticated story telling were the hall marks of this year’s festival.

The competition invites rangatahi to submit films of any genre – documentary/ short drama/animation/music video etc – that are aligned to or based on E Tū Whānau messages.

Some of the young filmmakers incorporated rap and animation in their entertaining stories.  Many were humorous but all showed a sure understanding of the principles of good acting, pace and plot.

The judges, filmmakers Tammy Davis (Born to Dance), Mike Jonathan (Ow What!) and Will Voight (Three Wise Cousins), said they were hugely impressed with the calibre of the filmmaking. The warmth and encouragement they offered the budding young filmmakers is an important part of the learning process.

Many of the winners had taken part in kura filmmaking wānanga run by the Māoriland team at 12 schools from Ōpōtiki to Manawatu and the Kāpiti Coast.

One of the filmmaking kaimahi and Māoriland Festival organiser, Libby Hakaria said that the rangatahi all were clearly inspired and used their imaginations to create films, each of which offered a unique perspective.

This is the third year E Tū Whānau has partnered with the Māoriland Film Festival by sponsoring the Rangatahi Short Film competition.

The winners of the E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Filmmaking Awards this year are:

Producer/Director Oriwa Hakaraia with the judges after receiving her award for Best Drama Award for her film, ‘He Taonga’

Producer/Director of ‘What’s the Difference?’, Maizy Kingsford-Brown (far right), and producers of ‘Healthy Wrap’, Manaakitanga Studio and Room 7, Avalon Intermediate who were joint winners of Best Innovation

Director Neihana Lowe and her team took out the award for Best Camera and another for Best Original Music with their film ‘Home’

Full list of winners and entrants

He Taonga

Producer/Director: Oriwa Hakaraia (12 years), Te Kura-ā-Iwi o Whakatupuranga Rua Mano, Ōtaki

Winner: Best Drama

Winner: Best Actor – Te Ahitaiwa Hakaraia Hosking


What’s the Difference

Producer/Director: Maizy Kingsford-Brown (12 years), Te Kura-ā-Iwi o Whakatupuranga Rua Mano, Ōtaki

Winner: Best Innovation


Producer/Director: Philly Kingsford-Brown (15 years), Te Kura a Iwi o Whakatupuranga Rua Mano, Ōtaki

Winner: Best Documentary

Winner: Best Original Music



Director: Neihana Lowe (15 years)

Poem: Sheldon Rua (16 years), Rosehill College, Auckland

Winner: Best Camera

Winner: Best Original Music


The Healthy Wrap

Manaakitanga Studio and Room 7, Avalon Intermediate

Winner: Best Innovation

Winner: Best Original music


Otaki’s Treasure

Director/Producer:  Kaea Hakaraia-Hosking, (11 years), Te Korowai Whakamana,Ōtaki



Director: Pani Rakuraku White (11 years), Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Ruamata

Winner: Best Camera

Winner: Best Documentary



Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Te Rito

Winner:  Best Actor – Te Akauroa Jacob (10 years)


Māori Spy Movie

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Manawatu